I Escaped North Korea. Here’s My Message for President Trump. | NYT - Opinion

126918 ratings | 2269726 views


I Escaped North Korea. Here’s My Message for President Trump. | NYT - Opinion

Yeonmi Park and her family suffered tragically under the North Korean regime. Now she’s urging the United States to pressure Kim Jong-un to end the holocaust against his own people. More from The New York Times Video: Subscribe: Watch all of our videos here: Facebook: Twitter: ---------- Whether it's reporting on conflicts abroad and political divisions at home, or covering the latest style trends and scientific developments, New York Times video journalists provide a revealing and unforgettable view of the world. It's all the news that's fit to watch.

Comments to the video: I Escaped North Korea. Here’s My Message for President Trump. | NYT - Opinion

TT4Days 1 month ago
Sorry but this is trump we are talking about. He wont defend the human rights of american citizens if they aren't white - i doubt he will defend the human rights of a nation he isn't benefiting from. He only cares about money and who he deems valuable to him so if he is the one we are relying on- NK will stay as corrupt and ill managed as it is today
Rebekah Ford 1 month ago
I live in the US and even I agree and hate Donald Trump
Jeffrey van de Ketterij 1 month ago
Liar!
MaAz 1 month ago
Would you prefer a nuclear war????
william kim 1 month ago
넌 제명에 살기 쫌~ 힘들다.
Make 1 month ago
It's not that easy
Gay voice is not quite clear Gay 1 month ago
ofcourse hitler is a mad man.u will come to know if u read his compltet history.
THE CRAZY PALADINS 1 month ago
If trump free north Koreans I'm sure his past sins will be forgiven and lesser people will hate him
Trospher 1 month ago
It's not going to be really easy, even if Trump knows it's hard to make him accountable without him suddenly dropping one on the US or any other countries.
Ahmadi Tanjung 1 month ago
First, I hate trump. Second, I don't care about u
Izazul mohsin 1 month ago
Stop you bi.h! Hitler was a good person. He killed mist of the Jewish viruses from earth. And Kim is a mad man. Don't compare a mad man with a good person.
Caesar Tham 1 month ago
Trump wants to be KIM in USA. This message is useless.
El Verceti Of 300 1 month ago
he either sits down with the North Korean dictator or we just keep going the way were going. thats unless you want war?
Itzsp0oked 1 month ago
That’s a lot of North Korean spies that disliked the video
Quin 1 month ago
I live in California. I am 12 and most people in California are against Trump. Now I completely agree with you,it is honestly terrible. From today on I am gonna try to almost eliminate my complaints. Gibbon how hard do many people have/had its i hand out soooo easy it is honestly sad.
Samantha Lize 1 month ago
The world is cheering Tump * shows one Fox news video *
Your Friend Annie Tang 1 month ago
the double eyelid surgery.is not that successful.shes brave though!
Pierce Tetlow 1 month ago
Listen Lady, America doesn’t care about North Korean human rights we got other problems, but nice try tho.
Sydney James 1 month ago
Trump better listen
Kendall White 1 month ago
Say it for the people in the back. I’m so glad she got out.
Mariana Mendoza 1 month ago
Yes!!!
Gergie 10 1 month ago
While she makes many valid points I just want to say that right now the North Koreans see Kim Jung Un as a god and we are in so position what so ever to be messing with that side of politics right now. DO NOT TAKE THIS THE WRONG WAY but I say that people in south korea,japan, And the united states lives are at a risk of loosing our lives to nukes and its important we get rid of those. Im not saying our lives are of anymore important but she does say so her self kim is sneaky so if we can denuke them rightnow billions of lives could be saved.
MemeInMyDream 1 month ago
Hitler isn't the same as Kim Jong-Un because at least Kimmy boi asked for peace.
Dj Candy Cane 1 month ago
Kim sucks
riverogue 1 month ago
Thumbnail looks like she finna sneeze
Hamoudi The Lion of the UK 1 month ago
But he should take care of his own people
Hamoudi The Lion of the UK 1 month ago
Kim is trying to protect you from the fatty ugly piggy americans
henry duong 1 month ago
i hope he dies of obesity
PunchDatPie 1 month ago
Would they do the same with Hitler? That hit me right in the stomach.
zahraa badran 1 month ago
Ok I am sorry for trump supporters but this president won't listen. I am sorry that I let you down North Korea but this president is killing millions of kids in Yemen and Palestine, He will not get it.
taho 1 month ago
what can be more urgent than human lives? money. money will always be top priority, most important, and the one cause the government will fight for.
Tejas Saxena 1 month ago
Her skin is flawless
Chin KW 1 month ago
Please Donald Trump.This is a chance to help other people.
Serena Bey 1 month ago
从那个环境中出来才能更加清楚的认识到什么叫 民风诡谲,脱离常识 。脱北者口中的朝鲜基本上是个魔幻现实主义的存在。。跟其他地球人完全不同的存在方式。。🤥🤥
ImVants 1 month ago
It made me digusted when i saw the starved people.
daddyshot8289 6 1 month ago
Jeez just shut dafq up
Virginsuicde 1 month ago
oh my god
Vladimir Lenin 1 month ago
If trump did what you asked then its 1 minute to midnight. It would escalate things to new heights.
David Rothschild 1 month ago
If he would tell turn down the DMZ Zone let the North Koreans leave that would be a Nobel Peace Prize for President Trump what do you think Kim Jong-un or just let his people walk away he keeps them in North Korea as prisoners of the state, slaves to his Madness. any sanctions to the North Koreans will always go to the poor and he will starve those people to death, he is not a man of the people. he's a false evil dictator that needs to be assassinated. So the North Korea can flourish with South Korea and it can become one great Nation. That would be the future of North and South Korea and democracy or flourish in this country.
Nyx_Otaku 1 month ago
My grandfather, (mom's side) also escaped North Korea when he was thirteen. It was during the Korean War. It was very rough. One of his brother's died with him and the rest were separated, and now he hopes to see his old home one last time before he dies, because he has cancer now.
Sikai Wu 1 month ago
LISTEN TO HER
Sikai Wu 1 month ago
YEA DONLD TRUMP
Yep Flower 1 month ago
*Witness Protection Program has joined the chat*
Jojo’s Art 1 month ago
There are other ways to speak up for freedom other than blaming another leader for your leader’s wrong-doings.
Jaggrawr 1 month ago
What she is asking for is great. The only problem is that this takes time. Trump can't go and ask for Kim to free people and stop hunger. It will take a while before anything changes over there.
• IᗪOᒪᔕ • 1 month ago
If only if we could live in a free equal world , there wouldn’t be suicide or bullies or even a guy called trump.
james d 1 month ago
lets go to war!!! is the only way
Itangelala m 1 month ago
I hope when I go there I won’t die.btw u ate dragonfly? (Actually I never want to go there!)
Art Explosion 1 month ago
She is pretty
Rafi mahmud 1 month ago
President kim is a real bustard on earth
lostn65 1 month ago
sounds like the guy is just misunderstood.
Tariq 1 month ago
People don't realize that this is literally like the Holocaust, during the holocaust the media didn't talk about any of the persecution In any major newspapers or magazines. Imagine if right now, in North Korea, the same things that happened during the holocaust are happening there under closed doors
oofer Gang 1 month ago
*HOLY MOLY, RING FINGERS*
Scrox 1 month ago
Yeah, yeah, there are no inner issues in America anymore - go fight fo some human rights in Korea or Afghanistan, you are the leader of the one of the most busybody countries on Earth after all.
Memey Boi 1 month ago
*But does he have a butthole?*
Zeref Jonsen 1 month ago
You must be with your any friend and you must hide over there because his a bad man
Mia Frankenfield 1 month ago
Honestly who would dislike this?
Sincerely Michelle 1 month ago
I thought this is what the united Nations was for to prevent there being another Hitler??
J J 1 month ago
God. I feel so helpless. I would do anything to help those people but like I am just a 15 year old and I probably would never be able to even step foot in that country.
Tidal Rush Dude 1 month ago
Why can't just all be happy and stop fighting let's have a big party and play fortnite.if they wanna fight so bad play fortnite ha problem solved!!!
Leigh 1 month ago
WW3 would start. Everybody is fighting and then there’s Canada. “Hi, wanna be friends? We aren’t sure why they’re fighting but it’s not good. We should go now, we have to befriend the rest of the countries - Bye!”
Arom Komondor 1 month ago
Befriend Like UAE
Da rainbow dolphin :3 1 month ago
Fat jung ooon needs help
Joey’sFatTour 1 month ago
*He Is Only Starting. Don’t Worry.* “Keep Your Friends Close, And Your Enemy’s Closer.” *He Will Do Something Soon And Save Them.*
Ihavenofriends Please help 1 month ago
This makes me think the opposite about trump, I thought Kim was nicer but after watching this it really changed my mind, Please. Make the world better filled with better people.
Big Egg 1 month ago
Thank you Kanye, very cool
Adriana Cruz 1 month ago
Trump just won't do nothing
I dare you to watch my playlist 1 month ago
*Im only here to see if he actually commented.*
XxShippingMyTearsxX 1 month ago
Beautiful girl
The Dave 1 month ago
How else do you deal with a dictator? She has my total empathy as do all the North Korean people but what does she suggest the US do instead. Sure the US could invade and take control of the country within a few days probably less than a week but is that really a solution? I don't think Kim want's to be Little Hitler anymore he is looking to the west for lessons on how to develop his country for the better. We need to help him with this, can you imagine being born to be a dictator? Should Regan not have spoken to Gorbachev?
Ardi wibowo maulana 1 month ago
All these videos on the internet are turning our heads away from the fact, that there might be less famine had the US chose not to block their entire trades. I dont know, shes 13 when she defect. I dont trust words from a 13 year old with a bunch of trauma.
Michelle Swinckels 1 month ago
this is so touching.
Karen Sy 1 month ago
Those poor starved children. It breaks my heart.
Vanyssa Munguia 1 month ago
If she is right and we can free those human rights from North Korea we would have such a huge impact on the world.! Also, if I may add, we would not be hated as much to other countries. Which would help in Allies I would presume.
Faaris 2007 1 month ago
I hate Kim jong un
chibba 1 month ago
I think our country needs help himself. Trade war, racism, deportation, white supremacy, etc etc
A B 1 month ago
It's Government that should be afraid of it's people, not other way around. - V
Lisa Sanders 1 month ago
Felt sorry for this girl and if only the president would start listening and stop being selfish -.-
Israfeel Angel 1 month ago
peace for every human
Asha Manthena 1 month ago
I hope he sees this
Bevel 1 month ago
pretty sure if he does anything it will put more people in danger but ok
Rainbowarnicorns 1 month ago
Ok
CaNcEr 1 month ago
YAAAAS MAH QUEEEEN
Greenaijen 1 month ago
*You can't save those who don't want to be saved.* A lot of people in North Korea believe, that they are living the best life. My family grew up in Soviet Union, and while people here in the west say that Russia's communism was negative, all of my family remember that time it with warmth. *It's not that easy to save North Koreans.* (sorry for bad english)
Zovry 1 month ago
As much as I hate this. What does Trump have to do with any of what's going on. You're acting like he's responsible for that. Yes he decnuclearized NK, and yes I understand the country is horrible, but trump is just as responsible for that as every other world leader: He's not.
Angelspy 123 1 month ago
Lets get this video viral so trump listens
Behlul Catalbasoglu 1 month ago
Nuke North Korea
Arom Komondor 1 month ago
And Start Another A Domino Effect No Thanks
푸옹Phuong 1 month ago
This woman is an evil liar.
Huck Kinn 1 month ago
mind control. (잠든 영임.) 잼있네 기획된 대로 재상하는.껍데기 스피커임. 간계의 연속임.
lil_ Q 1 month ago
Yh and then he launches nukes and destroy half of usa smh
Son Bo 1 month ago
Make a whitehouse petition, if it hits 100,000 names signed. The white HAS TO speak on it no matter what’s topic it’s on
만이 1 month ago
What does Trump as an American president have to do with NK, 2 different continents like wth
ULTRA INSTINCT GOKU 1 month ago
Okay there is a huge difference between Hitler and that fat guy(I know his name I just don't know how to spell it) *Hitler has a good mustache*
푸옹Phuong 1 month ago
This woman is an evil liar.
Adam Bořivoj 1 month ago
One day Americans will get tired of this and will have him killed. I wouldn't worry about it. The regime will fall. But the problem is that there are too many brainwashed people in NK that might die trying to avenge their leader. Also a leadless country might be a subject of China's interest and NK might end up in Chinese hands. It really isn't easy to just overthrow a dictator because too many innocent people would die. Nevertheless I applaud this young woman for trying to spread the truth about North Korea.
푸옹Phuong 1 month ago
This woman is an evil liar.
Baxi 1 month ago
he is worse then hitler. guys. hitler killed jews and alot of other people infront of people eyes and nobody cared. kim knows that if he will do the same act the world will basically execute him. so he hide it. the holocaust happned once it should not happen twice!!!
푸옹Phuong 1 month ago
This woman is an evil liar.
Cahyono Sebastian 1 month ago
Shut up, people do change lady, move on, i know u suffered a lot but look for the bigger picture, how many millions north korean people can be saved from starvation, just for to forgive one man's sin, is it still too much for you? Think it over
Ken Chan 1 month ago
this lady got paid to say this..
Eddon Roven 1 month ago
The strange part is things in Iran are just the same. I wish something will change soon , both in North korea and Iran
NEVAN D Silva 1 month ago
Listen trump
CoolyGamerz 1 month ago
Kim jong in is unfair He beated someone to death just because that person took a picture a SINGLE PICTURE OF A PARK IM TRIGGERED
Laishram a 1 month ago
I am sorry for North Korea. But it's all their ancestors fault. In every country their was a war between common people and the super power. But the common people win. But I don't think the North Korea people don't want to face the consequences. They are just a coward. So what if all the people of their country join together than things can be changes. They can sacrifices their life for future. It is better to die by killing some of their. Than living as slave.